The official site for the Morgan County Commission and County Departments.

Morgan County 911 answers all 911 calls originating in Morgan County and its municipalities. We dispatch all fire and ambulance resources, five police departments, and the county’s rescue squad. Morgan County 911 provides the technical services that support public safety, including addressing and mapping services, dispatch software, and the countywide radio system.

FEMA's mission remains: to lead America to prepare for, prevent, respond to and recover from disasters with a vision of "A Nation Prepared."  FEMA is the lead agency for coordinating government-wide relief efforts. It is designed to bring an orderly and systemic means of federal natural disaster assistance for state and local governments in carrying out their responsibilities to aid citizens.

The Alabama Emergency Management Agency (the “Alabama EMA”) is responsible by statute and several specific Governors’ executive orders for coordinating the emergency activities of all state departments and agencies with local governments, private agencies, organizations, federal agencies and other state governments. These activities include hazard mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery operations. These actions are detailed in the State Emergency Operations Plan (the “EOP”) and its annexes, the State Radiological Emergency Response Plan, and other emergency plans.

The National Weather Service in Huntsville provides weather forecasts and warnings for 11 counties in northern Alabama: Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lawrence, Lauderdale, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan; and 3 counties in southern middle Tennessee: Franklin, Lincoln, and Moore.

Information regarding the Nuclear Power Plant and preparedness information for North Alabama citizens.

This office ensures the protection of the public from excess exposure to ionizing radiation through a variety of activities, including the registering, licensing and inspection of uses of ionizing radiation, performing environmental monitoring, providing emergency training and preparedness and through public and professional education.

ALEA is responsible for the functions and missions of the Alabama Department of Homeland Security, Department of Public Safety, Alabama Bureau of Investigation, Fusion Center, Criminal Justice Information Center, Marine Police, Alcoholic Beverage Control Board Enforcement Division, Department of Revenue Enforcement, Forestry Commission Investigations, Agriculture and Industry Investigations, Public Service Commission Enforcement, and Office of Prosecution Services Computer Forensic Laboratories. 

The Alabama Homeland Security Office works with federal, state and local partners to prevent, protect and respond to acts of terrorism in the State of Alabama.  Since the attacks of 9/11, our nation as we knew it changed forever.  This office is committed to protecting the citizens of Alabama by supporting local first responders and private sector partners.   

The Department of Human Resources was created in 1935 to administer to the assistance programs that were part of the Social Security Act. These programs were developed to help an American public that was suffering through the financial hardships of the Great Depression. The agency's original name was the Department of Public Welfare. In 1955, it was renamed the Department of Pensions and Security. The current name was adopted in 1986. Some programs have changed over the years to meet the changing needs of Alabama. However, the agency's primary goal has always been and always will be to help people in need.

The Department of Homeland Security initiative for increasing education on cybersecurity issues and risks. Cybersecurity is a shared responsibility in which all Americans have a role to play. The Stop. Think. Connect. website provides resources for all segments of the community.

The North Alabama Chapter provides programs and services to the citizens of Cherokee, Colbert, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall and Morgan counties.

The Salvation Army in Decatur serves the Morgan, Lawrence, and Limestone county area.  With the continued assistance of our Advisory Board, The Salvation Army in Decatur will continue to grow and assist families during economic hardships and natural disasters.

2-1-1 is a free, easy to remember number to dial for information about health and human service organizations in your community. By dialing 2-1-1, information is much easier to find.

The Decatur Amateur Radio Club (DARC) is dedicated to serving the North Alabama community by promoting interest in amateur radio communication, providing emergency communications in event of disasters, and providing community service to the area where we live.

Ready is a National public service campaign designed to educate and empower the American people to prepare for, respond to and mitigate emergencies, including natural and man-made disasters. The goal of the campaign is to promote preparedness through public involvement.

Part of the Ready Campaign, Ready Kids is focused on preparedness information centered around kids. Ready Kids provides information, ideas and materials to help encourage children (and their families) to prepare for the unexpected including making a plan and building a kit.

Learn five simple steps that may save a life. Life-threatening emergencies can happen fast and emergency responders aren’t always nearby.  You may be able to save a life by taking simple actions immediately. You Are the Help Until Help Arrives.

Clicking on the name will redirect you to the owner’s website. Links to non-Morgan County EMA pages are provided for the visitor's convenience and do not represent an endorsement by Morgan County EMA of any commercial or private issues, products or services.